Is an old domestic lathe worth the same as a new import lathe?

tyronejk

Registered
Registered
Around where I live outside of Atlanta, I frequently find old lathes on Craigslist listed for about the same as new import lathe (using PrecisionMatthews lathes as a reference, since they're supposedly one of the good import lathes). The lathes I'm looking at are around 10"-12" by 20"-28".

I see a lot of guys find old South Bends and the like for $600-800 up north, so I'm not sure if $2500 for an old South Bend (and most don't seem to come with much tooling) is worth it. I have a couple of years of experience machining as a hobby, so it's not enough to be able to restore a really beat-up machine and I'd like to get started making parts rather than turning the lathe itself into a project.

So for roughly the same cost, would you recommend sticking with old iron or new chinesium? I'd be using the machine for hobby projects. 90% of it will probably be aluminum <2" diameter and tolerances of +/- 1 thou is probably sufficient.

I think many of us have wrestled with this question or a similar question of old domestic iron vs used import iron. I wrestled with the latter.

I was looking to get my first metal lathe around 2014. I had been looking at various lathes on Craigslist. I had seen a Grizzly G9249 about 2 hrs drive but did not go and look at this. I am also a hobbyist. I was expecting to be working with mostly aluminium, some steel, and perhaps some operations with wood which were giving me issues on my wood lathe such as drilling deep holes.

I purchased a well used Southbend Heavy 10 in May 2014, about 1 1/2hr drive. I spent the time to clean it up from the decades of grease and compressed air having forced chips and dirt into every crevice. I spent a good month cleaning this up. It only had a 6in scroll chuck and lantern style tool post. Very little tooling.