Is cheaper hydraulic oil OK?

Dgrose

Registered
Registered
I am brand new and starting to learn. I just bought a lathe from Precision Matthews (1440GT) and will be picking it up later this week. I notice they spec Mobil DTE heavy/medium iso 68 SAE 20 grade oil. I looked at MSC and they want $175 for 5 gallons. I read several other posts on this forum and wanted to know if I can buy other brands that are in the $40-50 dollar range. Are they basically the same thing or am I making a mistake. Rural King has harvest King AW6820W for $14 dollars for 2 gallon jug. Will this do? Or is it important to buy the stuff for $175 Thanks

I have little experience with hydraulic oil so I cannot comment on what to buy. I did work for a machine shop a few years back that "saved some money" on the oil coolant for a $1.2M gear grinding machine. The oil ended up being corrosive and eating all the black oxide off the machine as well as destroying the chiller and filtration unit. Cost them a couple hundred grand to replace everything. I would have thought all oil to be the same but obviously there is some bad stuff out there.

I heard some oil is corrosive to brass. I guess it is stupid to pay big money for a lathe and then penny pinch on the oil. I just am not informed enough to know the difference.

I have heard of a number of people using plain ol hydraulic fluid without issue. I never have so can't share any experienece.

Wow, prices have gone up. I used to pay like $22 a gal for DTE from Enco. The last 2 gallons I purchased from my local MSC was $28/gal. About $10 more now.

It's $30 a gallon on Amazon with free prime shipping. Or $112 shipped for 5 gallons. You don't need 5 gallons for the lathe though unless you have other needs for the left over oil.