Is it worth buying this for $1750.00?

John9A

Registered
Registered
I'm new to the idea of both mini milling machines as well as converting to CNC.
I am a teacher and would like to have a cnc to as a learning aid to help students learn, program and create small parts.
I am not new to cnc programming nor operating machines, but I've only been on the CAD end of it for quite a number of years.
I like these mini mills appearance and in videos they look perfect for my needs of a versatile instructional tool that can cut soft metals.
Also hope to have some fun with one and not only headaches which I'm sure a poorly converted machine would give.
But I don't know the good from the bad having no experience with them.
This guy below is for sale locally.
There is no name given for brand and I wonder if anyone can recognize it and share thoughts?
I'm sure that from the minimal information it's probably hard to give advice
Do the motors look as you'd expect? Is the conversion kit one you recognize?

Thanks for any experienced opinions on this.

John

CNC_FOR_SALE.JPG

We were just discussing this over here:

I'm new to the idea of both mini milling machines as well as converting to CNC.
I am a teacher and would like to have a cnc to as a learning aid to help students learn, program and create small parts.
I am not new to cnc programming nor operating machines, but I've only been on the CAD end of it for quite a number of years.
I like these mini mills appearance and in videos they look perfect for my needs of a versatile instructional tool that can cut soft metals.
Also hope to have some fun with one and not only headaches which I'm sure a poorly converted machine would give.
But I don't know the good from the bad having no experience with them.
This guy below is for sale locally.
There is no name given for brand and I wonder if anyone can recognize it and share thoughts?
I'm sure that from the minimal information it's probably hard to give advice