Is there any clay target sports fanatics here?

682bear

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Its one of my obsessions... I began shooting trap and skeet back in 2001 and quickly migrated into Sporting clays. By the end of 2001, I had pretty much went exclusively to sporting clays. There was a regional recreational Sporting club that I joined that sponsored 2 recreational shoots every month. In 2006 I joined the National Sporting Clay Association and began competing at NSCA registered events. I have been doing that for 12 years now and have close to 32,000 registered targets, plus somewhere between 75 and 100,000 practice targets behind me.

So... is there anyone else here that shares my obsession?

-Bear

I shot trap for a couple years at the local gun club & although I had a blast (no pun intended), I certainly wasn't as "obsessed" as you! 130,000+ shots?....:eek:....your shoulder must be as calloused up worse than my hands!!! I still go out to the gravel pit a few times each summer with my two younger brothers & we pop off 2-300 clays on a Saturday afternoon, but that's about it anymore.

I love shooting & would do it every day if life would quit getting in the way, so what I did get somewhat "quasi-serious" about though was airgun Field Target comps (cheaper ammo, more of a challenge). I know, I know....BB guns are for little kids. Believe me, I've heard it before (and still hear it from time to time). But I can assure you, these aren't the $60 "Red Ryder" we had as a kid being used. Besides, with the low-powered, loopy trajectory compared to powder burners, I really like the challenge of trying to master putting that 10 grain .177cal pill into a 1.5" kill-zone @ 55 yards on a breezy day. Make it to a shootout in the finals (I never did) & now you need to hit 1/4" kill zone @ 50-55 yards (about the size of the end of a cigarette)...harder than you think!