Is this a good idea?

Pcmaker

Registered
Registered
Found this video on Youtube. I was thinking of doing the same to my new lathe, though I'm a newbie, so I'm a bit hesitant.

What's that blue paint he's got? I've seen it before on milling videos. Also, what's that scraper tool he's using to flatten out the surfaces?

Nelson told us in the Reconditioning forum not to add You Tube shows. Why didn't you ask this question in the reconditioning forum?

Experienced people hesitate to do it. Newbies probably shouldn’t be scraping on their lathe.

Nelson told us in the Reconditioning forum not to add You Tube shows. Why didn't you ask this question in the reconditioning forum?

I didn't even know what the term "reconditioning" is as it pertains to machining. I try not to wander outside of the beginner's section as I'm a newbie's newbie and I'll just get lost in the terminology that I'm not yet familiar with. I don't want to flood myself with too much info as of yet.

If you want to see an experienced reconditioner type my name Richard King Scraping on You Tube and you will see several students who filmed me.
You should look down the forums. You have 61 messages, you're no longer a rookie.

I found the reconditioning forum just now.

Last edited: