• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Some users may still have issues remaining logged into the forum. Please delete old bookmarks. If you are still having issues, go to the Site Issues forum here and let us know EXACTLY what you clicked on before the login issue arose, so we can try to track it down. We are working on this, and appreciate your patience. Thank you.

[4]

Is this motor suitable for a VFD?

January Project of the Month [3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

Ropata

Active Member
Active Member
Joined
May 24, 2016
Messages
122
Likes
30
#1
Hi guys,

Is this motor capable of being run off a VFD?
20170904_215614.jpg
I seem to remember 2 speed motors being a bit troublesome.
 

markba633csi

Active Member
Active Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2015
Messages
1,764
Likes
859
#2
I think the 400 volt requirement will be the difficulty, although I have heard of people using step-up 3 phase transformers on the output
of a 230 volt VFD but it tends to be an expensive solution unless you get the transformer cheap or free.
Check the cost of rewinding the motor to a lower voltage vs replacing the motor with a lower voltage one.
Mark
ps if your motor is a "star" winding you can power it from a 230 volt 3 phase source (or VFD) directly but if it is a "delta" type winding you would need a step-up also.
 
Last edited:

Ropata

Active Member
Active Member
Joined
May 24, 2016
Messages
122
Likes
30
#3
I think the 400 volt requirement will be the difficulty, although I have heard of people using step-up 3 phase transformers on the output
of a 230 volt VFD but it tends to be an expensive solution unless you get the transformer cheap or free.
Check the cost of rewinding the motor to a lower voltage vs replacing the motor with a lower voltage one.
Mark
I have my eye on a VFD with 240v input to 400v output such as the 1hp gs2 model from automation direct.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk
 

markba633csi

Active Member
Active Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2015
Messages
1,764
Likes
859
#4
That sounds like a good solution, I wasn't sure if something like that was available
Mark
ps I checked their website and couldn't find a model like that- can you post the model #?
M
 
Last edited:

Ropata

Active Member
Active Member
Joined
May 24, 2016
Messages
122
Likes
30
#5
That sounds like a good solution, I wasn't sure if something like that was available
Mark
ps I checked their website and couldn't find a model like that- can you post the model #?
M
Pretty sure this will do the trick. Only thing I'm not sure of is the 2 speed motor and how it would work.
 

mksj

Active User
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2014
Messages
1,606
Likes
1,856
#6
The GS2 VFD will not step up the voltage from 230 to 400V, there are only a few VFDs that I am aware of that are capable of this and they are available through a UK vendor (link below). The usual setup is using a step-up transformer and a 400V series VFD (some can handle a range of output voltages, so something like the WJ200-007HF is rated for 380-480V). The problem you will run into is the VFD is only rated for 3 phase input in this voltage range, so if run off of single phase you would need to run it off of a WJ200-015HF (usually a 3 phase input VFD needs to be ~1.7X if run off of single phase). Otherwise you can go from a RPC to a step-up transformer to your 3 phase input VFD with no derating.
http://www.drivesdirect.co.uk/how_to_choose.htm

I have not had much success with 2 speed motors and VFDs, they seemed not to perform as well in particular on the lower pole (high speed) setting. I have also setup switch gear and VFD programming to be able to switch the VFD settings and motor connections between both speeds, but it is complicated. I would use the higher pole setting and over-speed the motor to 120Hz. Also, I believe this is a constant Hp motor, so they may behave differently, but I just dealt with one used on a mill and we went with the low speed (higher pole) setting and adjusted the output Hz to over-speed the motor. You can try one or the other and see which works best with your VFD.
 

killswitch505

H-M Supporter - Premium Member
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2013
Messages
184
Likes
142
#7
Yep that's a go with the gs2 I've used them on a lot different applications they're a great drive. I would really consider a new drive rated motor and GS2. Side note none drive rated motors have a had time keeping cool at lower frequencies. I'm not sure what your budget is but it's only money and you can't take it with you when you're gone.
 
[6]
[5] [7]