It Just Stopped ??

brasssmanget

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Was using my SB Hvy10 yesterday doing some very minor turning. Turned of the machine to swap the belt to a faster pulley, and when I went to turn it back on, all I got was a "click" and a humming sound from the lathe. After a few more tries the humming sound got much weaker/quieter. Hmmm.....

I'm no electrician, and I avoid these kinds of issues like the plague - would not know where to even begin.

But............. I do have three sons that are electricians, so I'll be giving them a call for a visit - no trip charge involved ya know. :D

Ied give the motor a tap or two with a mallet

If that's a single phase motor, it kind of sounds like the centrifugal switch is stuck (common problem) or possibly a failed start capacitor.

Ted

If you can start it by giving the chuck a spin while the motor is powered then it's the centrifugal start switch or start winding.

Trying that (spinning the chuck by hand) may temporarily fix the problem if the start switch had a bit of crap in it - the next shutdown may clean it out.

Good luck!

Stu

Good advice above. It should go without saying, but be really careful spinning a pulley by hand on a powered up machine! Get good access, no long sleeves, long hair, etc. Get good enough access so you are not in an awkward position. Make sure that the lathe is not geared to the motor while doing it.

This same think happened to me a while back when I was in the middle of threading. I could not change the set up. I took off the back end or the motor and cleaned up the start capacitor. Looked like a set of points. Put it back in and has not given me a problem since. Hopefully yours is a simple as mine was.

All good ideas and advice. I'll look into it tomorrow if time permits. I'm waiting on #2 son [electrician] to get back to me, but these suggestions I can handle most of them on my own...

Thanks!!

i'd concur with examination of the start capacitor and starting circuit