[4]

It works!

DavidR8

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
I had two aluminum blanks lying around so I chucked them up, faced and turned them.
This represents my true entry into the rabbit hole!

They may become two rollers for a 2x72” belt grinder.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

higgite

Professional Crastinator
Hello, my name is Tom and I’m a hobby machinist. I’m not an addict because I can quit any time I want to. I’ve done it hundreds of times.

My problem is that watching chips fly and metal mysteriously become skinnier is like staring at a campfire. No reason to do it, it’s just mesmerizing and somehow satisfying. Have I mentioned that I’m not addicted to it?

Welcome to the addic hobby, David. Good job on the cylinder.

Tom

Moderatemixed

H-M Supporter - Sustaining Member
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Dial indicators and Micrometers are “gateway” tools..... I’m a full on addict, and I own that! I have walked the 12 step recovery pathway and I have stumbled. But I am strong, and even though I stumble, I know that I am amongst others who fight along side me....... I won’t suffer in silence, but I simply don’t want to live in a world without metrology.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

mmcmdl

Staff member
My problem is that watching chips fly and metal mysteriously become skinnier is like staring at a campfire. No reason to do it, it’s just mesmerizing and somehow satisfying.
I'd choose the campfire every time , :drool: although turning a nice piece of barstock into worthless chips is quite amusing at times . :oops:

DavidR8

The addiction is taking hold.
I drool after milling machines and 12x lathes. I admit to caressing a Miller TIG whilst buying my metrology tools.
In my disaster of a shop I eye every cylindrical object to see if it will fit into the chuck.
Let there be chips!

Glad to be amongst fellow addicts.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

ttabbal

Bronze
Registered