It's the darn taste! (way oil)!

graham-xrf

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I dunno how it happened. Maybe the back of my hand brushed across my face while I was having a bit of a struggle with getting the respirator thing off - or something, but somehow, the tiniest smidgen of a trace of Mobil Vactra #2 made it to the taste buds. Yikes, but that stuff is tenacious! Spit, wash out - not even a small swig of Jim Beam would strip it away!

I once had a mishap under a car, involving a differential, and spilled Castrol Hypoid EP-90. You know what it's like. The thing is awkward, and suddenly overflows out the the top-up hole, and one is .. well.. underneath!

Granted, that EP-90 stuff was a great deal more evil-smelling than Vactra, but the yuk taste lasted for several days!

Gotta be more careful! :disgust:

If you don't know what all the fluids in your shop tastes like how else will you identify them when the labels fall off the bottles? When I worked as a mechanic I knew what all the fluids taste like from cars so I could easily identify what was leaking. :D

If you don't know what all the fluids in your shop tastes like how else will you identify them when the labels fall off the bottles? When I worked as a mechanic I knew what all the fluids taste like from cars so I could easily identify what was leaking. :D

Dang, that's hardcore! I just settled for identifying fluids based on the way they felt between my fingers. Fuel, brake, ATF, oil all feels different. Reminds me of that Cheech and Chong sketch: Schaffolnik, come here! That look like dog $hit to you? Look like dog $hit to me too. Now pick up! Taste!

I remember replacing a radiator that had the green stuff back in the day.
Got a string of drops right in the mouth. Hmm, sweet. No wonder dogs drink this stuff.
It's poison too.
Gear oil? I'll pass.

I remember replacing a radiator that had the green stuff back in the day.