[Newbie] JET 1024P Restoration

ficklecycler

Registered
Registered
I'm posting to introduce myself and to share my new lathe as a project. I've been doing hobby machining for a few years but have had an interest in it for longer. I rent an apartment and have slowly built a reasonably well outfitted machine shop in a little 1 car garage that is woefully underpowered. Over the past few years I've gotten to a point where I've been able to use my machine shop in a professional sense for when clients want prototyping work. Through my own hobby and this client work I've progressed a bit, but have so so much to learn. I've worked my way up from a 7x10 to 7x14 to 8x16 to this newest acquisition and hopeful long-time ownership JET 1024P.

I thought it would be fun to do a better job at documenting the process of acquiring and refurbishing this lathe so I'm starting this thread.

I had been hounding Craigslist wanting to find a replacement for my MX210V 8x16 lathe and shelter in place was in full swing. I saw this older JET 1024P lathe pop up on CL with a price that sounded high. At the same time, the action on CL was slowing way down because of pandemic precautions. Just for kicks I started looking into the lathe and was impressed with just how densely built it is and how many features it has. The quality Taiwanese manufacturing was also an interest point because I've been so disappointed by the abysmal manufacturing of my previous lathe. This lathe was there day after day and I started wondering if anyone at all had gone to see it. Also, analyzing the pictures it looked like it was barely used, and looked dry and dirty. The description was extremely sparse but my interest was there. So sparing you more words, I went to go see it for myself after it had been up for 25+ days.