Just Got My First Lathe - Sheldon Xl - 56

Cody Killgore

Registered
Registered
Hello all,

I'm pretty new here. I just got my first lathe (and milling machine) in my shop. Bought them both from a local guy and am looking forward to trying them out. Although, the first thing I'm going to do, is clean them both up real well.

The lathe is a Sheldon XL - 56. I am about as noobie as it gets when it comes to machining. I have never used a lathe or milling machine before. I have been scouring the web trying to learn what all the knobs and levers are.

On the back side of the carriage is this "thing". I don't know what it is or what it is used for. Any help would be appreciated. I'm sure you experienced guys will take one look at this and know precisely what it is for.

Cody

Sheldon1.jpg

Hello all,

I'm pretty new here. I just got my first lathe (and milling machine) in my shop. Bought them both from a local guy and am looking forward to trying them out. Although, the first thing I'm going to do, is clean them both up real well.

The lathe is a Sheldon XL - 56. I am about as noobie as it gets when it comes to machining. I have never used a lathe or milling machine before. I have been scouring the web trying to learn what all the knobs and levers are.

On the back side of the carriage is this "thing". I don't know what it is or what it is used for. Any help would be appreciated. I'm sure you experienced guys will take one look at this and know precisely what it is for.

Cody

View attachment 96608

It appears to be a taper attachment to this newbie. MORE PICS PLEASE

Yep, that is a taper attachment and almost all Sheldons except the "Metalworker" came with one. Very handy device when you learn how to use it. Check eBay for a book called "The Care and Operation Of A Lathe" published by Sheldon. Lots of good stuff including how to use your taper attachment.