Lagunmatic CNC machine why not!

jeepguy88

Registered
Registered
Joined
Aug 15, 2016
Messages
84
Just picked up myself a nice winter project. A Lagunmatic.
I have 0 CNC experience. So this will be a good challenge.
Currently has Fagor 8010m controller. Doesnt really want to turn on. I plan on upgrading to PC anyway. I kept my old gaming computer around for just such a project.
The lagun has dc brushed servo motors currently on X,Y,Z and they all work. When I powered up the machine, they all worked. So thats a plus. Maybe the Fagor controller didnt like running off a RPC?. There is no manual with this, and no labels to what input for what the machine needs to be wired to. Machine is overall in great shape, just needs a super bath from siting in the corner for so many years neglected.

I have no idea what I need to run this off my pc :cool:. Ive only seen a handful of youtube and reading around here. I need a breakout board? some drive controlers? Mach4 or Linuxcnc, thats it? Seems pretty simple compaired to trying to figure out whats wrong with the Fagor controller. Id say Im ok when it comes to building computers but, trouble shooting old circut boards or monitors doesnt seem like fun. Not to mention that I could probably figure out Mach4 or LinuxCNC software easier than learing the Fagor Controller. Not to mention the fagor controller is about the same size of the mill! lol It would be nice just have have a small computer and monitor mounted to the side.

My other mill is a full size Grizzly that was converted to cnc, that was non operational. It was advised that I would be better off making it a manual mill instead of messing around trying to figure out all the cnc controls. I kinda regretted that, but now I have a legit CNC that just needs a little help. I have stepper motors (I think) from the Grizzly machine somewhere, if those are better than the dc servo motors? I dont know the size of them, but I'll go find them and look. I dont know the size of motors needed to power a full size mill either.
Ill post some pics when I can.
Any input on breakout boards or drivecontorllers and software is much appreciated.
 

matthewsx

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2019
Messages
3,080
Sounds like a neat project, post some pictures so we can see what you're talking about.

I would be inclined to keep as much as possible from the existing set-up, sticking with the existing servos and their controllers will save a ton of money if you can use both.

Here's someone who updated a 3516-SX with LinuxCNC.

https://forum.linuxcnc.org/30-cnc-machines/31621-lagunmatic-3516-sx-retrofit?start=0

I'm sure the experts will chime in soon but I'm using LinuxCNC with a cheap 5-axis controller and steppers for my project but will be eventually running a Mesa Electronics 7i96 control board.

Cheers,

John
 

Eddyde

H-M Supporter - Sustaining Member
Staff member
H-M Platinum Supporter
Joined
Oct 13, 2014
Messages
1,958
Sounds like a great project. I'm no expert but I think would be entirely possible upgrade the controller. Please post pictures of your progress.
 

jeepguy88

Registered
Registered
Joined
Aug 15, 2016
Messages
84
Hope I added the photos correctly.
Barely cleared the garage door :)
So far my only progress has been unloading and a tiny bit of cleaning . I've got a 6" step up to clear going into the garage. I rented a tilt deck trailer and it has a very slight decline to the garage floor. I put a pipe to roll on and move it with a large pry bar. Pretty easy.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20191022_140044802.jpg
    IMG_20191022_140044802.jpg
    3.8 MB · Views: 60
  • IMG_20191022_173042160.jpg
    IMG_20191022_173042160.jpg
    4.7 MB · Views: 61
  • IMG_20191024_152006239.jpg
    IMG_20191024_152006239.jpg
    3.8 MB · Views: 57

jeepguy88

Registered
Registered
Joined
Aug 15, 2016
Messages
84
I need more shop space lol.
Feel like I've come along way from my first mill, the lil RongFu
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20191024_173404425.jpg
    IMG_20191024_173404425.jpg
    4.6 MB · Views: 55
  • IMG_20191024_173329927.jpg
    IMG_20191024_173329927.jpg
    3.9 MB · Views: 46
  • IMG_20191024_173255021.jpg
    IMG_20191024_173255021.jpg
    4.3 MB · Views: 46
  • IMG_20191024_173238965.jpg
    IMG_20191024_173238965.jpg
    4.3 MB · Views: 46

jeepguy88

Registered
Registered
Joined
Aug 15, 2016
Messages
84
So far, the only thing that seems to be missing is the pump for the self oiler, the lines are still there, and its missing a draw bar. It takes 40taper tooling, I think its ntsb. I can probably make a drawbar
 

matthewsx

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2019
Messages
3,080
She’s a beauty.
I bet all the smarts are in that control box. I’d be tempted to try and get that working, it’s conversational right?

john
 

JimDawson

Global Moderator
Staff member
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2014
Messages
10,274
Ooooooh, what a fun project. :) As said above using the existing servos & drives is not out of the question, but is a bit more complex than using newer hardware. Those look like Servo Dynamics servo drives, maybe you can find a data plate on them. If they are, I have the documentation for them. 750 watt servos would run the machine just fine, that's about what the rating is on the existing motors. On that machine I would not use steppers, no point in dumbing down a nice machine. Your RCP should run the control, but without taking some voltage measurements it's a little hard to make a good guess.

Pretty sure the control, including the servo drives, is single phase and quite possibly will run on 120V. But need more information to figure that out. Clearer pictures inside the main power cabinet would tell a lot. Looks like it's wired for 240V, but I can't see the transformer in the upper right clear enough to read the data plate on it. It does have 600V main fuses, so indicates it could run on 480V, but is obviously capable of 240V operation. My best guess is the only thing on that machine that requires 3 phase is the spindle motor. Don't change any wiring until the current voltage setup can be positively confirmed.

Without any documentation and your stated limited control system experience, repairing/using the existing Fagor control is pretty much a lost cause. Besides there is no point in running that machine on a 30 year old controller. But quite honestly since you have that Grizzly sitting there, I would get it running first, just for practice. Once you are more comfortable with CNC controls and systems, then tackle the Lagun.

The existing servo drives most likely use a +/- 10 VDC analog command signal, not a problem, but will limit your control hardware choices. Dynomotion Kflop/Kanalog and Galil products will run them, there are a couple of other options also but I can't remember them at the moment. All are compatible with Mach3/4. Centroid would be another option.

There are a few of us here that have done this a time or two so can offer advice and sympathy :)
 
Last edited:

jeepguy88

Registered
Registered
Joined
Aug 15, 2016
Messages
84
Without any documentation and your stated limited control system experience, repairing/using the existing Fagor control is pretty much a lost cause. Besides there is no point in running that machine on a 30 year old controller. But quite honestly since you have that Grizzly sitting there, I would get it running first, just for practice. Once you are more comfortable with CNC controls and systems, then tackle the Lagun.

Thanks for the reply Jim, I see your in Oregon too!
I agree with trying to repair the Fagor as a moot point. On the other hand, it would be nice to see it work, only to resell the controls and recoup some money. Theres a Fagor 8010 screen and panel on ebay at the moment that I was socked to see the price on.
My Grizzly works just fine, as a manual machine. The grizz was non-op when I bought it, it was a backyard conversion, had some odd bracketry to hold the servos on there, I dont know if system ever worked. I just took the brackets off and installed handles. It does have ball screws that are really smooth :) The quill setup was really funky and I dont think it worked, just looking out it was all built. The grizzly is all back to normal. I was just saying I have the motors from that machine on hand in case they are needed.

The Kflop.
Kanalog Expansion Board for KFLOP
looks pretty reasonably priced.

I bet all the smarts are in that control box. I’d be tempted to try and get that working, it’s conversational right?
Not yet. lol

When I turned the machine on, the motor worked, pressing the power button on the control box, I could hear the computer turn on, but it wouldnt stay on unless I held the power button in, and all the servos ran until they ran out of room while I was holding the power button down.

Ill go get some more photos
 

jeepguy88

Registered
Registered
Joined
Aug 15, 2016
Messages
84
The first clear clean image Im guessing this is an original servo, this is for the z axis. The not so clear label is for the y axis.
And a couple more shots of the electrical box.
I was thinking of just plugging the computer in to the wall outlet to test and mess around with it.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20191024_193939302.jpg
    IMG_20191024_193939302.jpg
    4.3 MB · Views: 41
  • IMG_20191024_193809355.jpg
    IMG_20191024_193809355.jpg
    3.7 MB · Views: 39
  • IMG_20191024_193824528.jpg
    IMG_20191024_193824528.jpg
    3.7 MB · Views: 34
  • IMG_20191024_193842853.jpg
    IMG_20191024_193842853.jpg
    4.9 MB · Views: 34
  • IMG_20191024_193923204.jpg
    IMG_20191024_193923204.jpg
    3.9 MB · Views: 40
It can take up to an hour for ads to appear on the page. See our code implementation guide for more details. If you already have Auto ad code on your pages there's no need to replace it with this code
Top
AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks useful features of our website. For the best site experience please disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock