Lathe Chuck removal

Chuck Forman

Registered
Registered
Total novice here. Just bought a mid-1940's 10 X 36 Sheldon ( L not XL series, unfortunately) with the complicated U Drive (unfortunately) (hereafter Sheldon). First lathe.

What is the best way to remove the darned 4 jaw chuck? Been on there forever.

What's best way to hold the spindle? Engage back gear and direct drive same time(sounds a bit risky)? Put a big 5 MT Bit (I have a big one) in the spindle and put a pipe wrench on it (Afraid of scoring the spindle bore)?

How do I get some purchase on the chuck? No place on chuck for wrench that I can see. How about backing out the jaws and fashioning a "Wrench" that fits into the jaw slot or slots. Tighten square stock carefully but firmly in the chuck and wrench on it? Assuming I get some decent purchase, ok to whack the "wrench" with a hammer?? If not cooperative, what about carefully heating the thread area of the chuck???

I have not even tried to remove yet, so maybe it will come off easily. Regardless, want to use best approach. Any advice much appreciated.

If this should have been posted to the more general area, please let me know. I am a total novice at forums in addition to machining and metal machines.

Regards, cf

Welcome! I am a newby also to this forum and also own a Sheldon lathe. Upon acquiring my Sheldon, one of the first things that I did was to join the Sheldon lathe group on Yahoo. Just run a search and you will find it. It probably will take a week or so to get approved, but the technical information that you will get from this group on your Sheldon will be well worth it. The leader of this group is a former Sheldon employee and is very helpful in providing information on Sheldon machines and diagnosing problems. The topic of freeing a stuck chuck comes up frequently. The Hobby Machinist forum is a great source of information on machining, but it certainly helps to also have access to a person who assisted in building Sheldons.