Lathe dro users

killswitch505

Registered
Registered
Can you guys tell me what y'all use diameter or radius? From what I'm reading both are correct but I would like to grasp the most common way of doing things. I mean with out a dro I'm already thinking if I take a .010 cut I removed .020 from the diameter of the part. Sorry this might be extremely newbie but I'm new

The dial on most lathes reads radius, so you divide by 2 to take some amount off of the diameter. You can do the same thing with a DRO. I just got my lathe DRO a few weeks ago and I still haven't figured out set it for for diameter :) Doesn't really matter, I have been dividing by 2 for about 50 years.

Thank Jim. I've only been doing it for 8 months but that's what I've been doing thinking that's what I'm going to stick with

Usually diameter in my experience, it is the actual amount of material or diameter size that you are ending up with. This is one reason on the crosslide, they usually specify 1 micron scales as opposed to 5 micron as you would loose to much resolution. In diameter mode the the DRO doubles the actual scale reading (so a 1 micron scale you get a 0.0001" resolution, 5 micron scale is 0.0004). I started out with radius, but for me on the lathe I wanted to know what I was cutting to or finished diameter, I also made more goofs with radius mode. On most lathes I have used the manual crosslide scale reads diameter. I will also do a cut, measure the diameter and then reset the DRO to the measured diameter, this helps me get down to a few ten thousandth resolution in my final diameter if needed. But I guess like anything it depends on what you are use to.

Last edited: