lathe

Registered
Registered
I always wanted a nice used lathe to learn pipe threading and tapering etc. I am new to machining but know the basics.My employer has a good full machine shop to make drill pipe. What smaller but not too small used rig would you recommend for me to buy??. It needs to be automated only to the extent that the tool carriage and the chuck
are synced and move with each other.For making threads. I would guess most of them do that much.I want to spend about 5-800$.Dont care if its beat looking..
I want to start with plastic and learn and then move to steel. I want to learn first threading pipes and tapering and go from there..

I think to do pipe threads you would also need a taper attachment.

It needs to be automated only to the extent that the tool carriage and the chuck
are synced and move with each other.For making threads. I would guess most of them do that much

As stated above . You would need either a taper attachment , tracer attachment OR a cnc machine for taper pipe threads . Also , if you plan on doing any kind of true ( large ) pipe threading , you should go with at least a 15" swing with a big thru spindle bore . JMI .

As above, firstly what size pipe do you want to work on? you will need to get a lathe that will accept that size through the spindle bore so could be a quite large machine. Unless you simply want to learn the threading process on short pieces of pipe, that can be fitted into the chuck,then a smaller machine would work.

Also, as mentioned above you will need a taper attachment if you want to make taper threads, they are not usually cheap. however again if you are really only wanting to learn the process of thread cutting on a lathe then any lathe with a leadscrew and suitable change gears or gearbox will suffice.
Good luck, and have fun.