[4]

lathe

[3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

Registered
I always wanted a nice used lathe to learn pipe threading and tapering etc. I am new to machining but know the basics.My employer has a good full machine shop to make drill pipe. What smaller but not too small used rig would you recommend for me to buy??. It needs to be automated only to the extent that the tool carriage and the chuck
are synced and move with each other.For making threads. I would guess most of them do that much.I want to spend about 5-800$.Dont care if its beat looking..
I want to start with plastic and learn and then move to steel. I want to learn first threading pipes and tapering and go from there..

tweinke

Active User
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
I think to do pipe threads you would also need a taper attachment.

mmcmdl

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
Staff member
It needs to be automated only to the extent that the tool carriage and the chuck
are synced and move with each other.For making threads. I would guess most of them do that much
As stated above . You would need either a taper attachment , tracer attachment OR a cnc machine for taper pipe threads . Also , if you plan on doing any kind of true ( large ) pipe threading , you should go with at least a 15" swing with a big thru spindle bore . JMI .

Downunder Bob

H-M Supporter - Sustaining Member
Staff member
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
As above, firstly what size pipe do you want to work on? you will need to get a lathe that will accept that size through the spindle bore so could be a quite large machine. Unless you simply want to learn the threading process on short pieces of pipe, that can be fitted into the chuck,then a smaller machine would work.