Let's Talk About Wear On Our Bridgeport Milling Machines

Janderso

Jeff Anderson
H-M Platinum Supporter
Hi,
I am new to milling. I purchased my 1970 Step Pulley last winter. I really had no idea what to look for and the price was right so I bought it.
As I am learning about this machine and getting to use it more and more, I am finding a few things that concern me.
First of all, the Y and X tighten up on both ends. I find there is table movement (I haven't measured it yet). When I am in the highly used zone and enjoying free wheeling of the ball cranks there is quite a bit of table movement. As I move from side to side the movement is significantly less as the ball cranks tighten up against the gib.
I tighten up what I can when milling and so far the machine has performed well for me. When I make a cut, I check for squareness and depth consistency and I find little deviation and I am cutting right angles.
Now, maybe for this hobbyist the wear has not yet become an issue.
The head is quiet, the quill binds a bit but that's OK, the back gears are quiet and all the machine functions seem to work OK.
I have a hunch there are many of us in the same position.
What are you doing about the wear? When I tighten up the locking screw the table tightens up great.
Have you considered having yours ground/scraped in?
Have you considered doing it yourself? Cringe.
What options are available?
I'd like to talk about it.
Jeff

Yes it can be scraped in but it's a job. Maybe Rich King can elaborate on this, he's our resident expert
Do you have a long table version or a short one like 32"? Shorter the table the less work to fix I think.
Sometimes the gib can be shimmed to give some improvement

Here are my feelings on this subject for what they are worth. Unless you are either very lucky or spend more money than I could justify for my use, you will most likely end up with machines that are either older, have more wear or both...