Looking for motion sensor with long ON time

AGCB97

H-M Supporter - Diamond Member
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2016
Messages
685
I've been searching but to no avail for a motion sensor switch (with or without lights, but I don't need lights) that will stay on for about an hour or so. I want this to control power at my desk and not go off while I'm sitting there (even if I'm not moving much) but then go off automatically if I leave and forget to shut things down manually. The longest time delay I've found is 30 minutes.

I guess I haven't used the right search words.

Thanks
Aaron
 

AGCB97

H-M Supporter - Diamond Member
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2016
Messages
685

Karl_T

H-M Supporter - Sustaining Member
H-M Platinum Supporter
Joined
Oct 14, 2014
Messages
1,539
Then you got it made. when ever the sensor says "no motion" start a timer in the controller. If it sees motion, reset the timer. If it times out, kill power to pc. or you could get fancy and close the reset button to the pc to tell it to shut down.

I LOVE playing with home automation. No end to the neat things that can be done.
 

Bi11Hudson

Artificer00
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2017
Messages
1,266
Some 20-25 years back, the HR department got the hots for such a switch in all spaces and offices. My boss had a big row over putting them in electrical control spaces. HR would have them installed, and we, the local electrical people, would quietly follow along and replace them with light switches or hard wire across them. A man squatted down on the floor troubleshooting was below the sensitivity level of the switches. They seemed to switch off the lights just as we would make an adjustment. Seems our source was W W Grainger. There were many electrical supply houses in the area, all carried such a switch.

.
 

AGCB97

H-M Supporter - Diamond Member
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2016
Messages
685
I ordered one of the 30 minute ones from A. Even if I read very slowly (as I do) that should keep me from being shut out unexpectedly.
Thanks all!
Aaron
 

AGCB97

H-M Supporter - Diamond Member
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2016
Messages
685
Got it and it works great! I did also put a constant on and a constant off switch for those special times.
Thanks
Aaron
 

RJSakowski

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2015
Messages
6,320
Many time delay circuits use a capacitor that slowly charges or discharges to determine the delay time. It may be possible to hack the control. Doubling the capacitance will double the maximum delay time at the expense of also doubling the minimum delay time.
 

AGCB97

H-M Supporter - Diamond Member
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2016
Messages
685
Thanks. It's working fine now. No more time spent needed.
 
It can take up to an hour for ads to appear on the page. See our code implementation guide for more details. If you already have Auto ad code on your pages there's no need to replace it with this code
Top
AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks useful features of our website. For the best site experience please disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock