Looking for my perfect size hobby mill....

Mr Mike

H-M Supporter - Diamond Member
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
Hi everybody..

So a while ago I was looking for the perfect size hobby Lathe at Pm and for me it was the 12 x 28 but it was not available to ship out due to not being in stock or I would have purchased it...

That being said what PM "Mill" would be the perfect starter mill, keeping in mind a 12 x 28 lathe would be what I would consider a good size hobby lathe. over say a 10 x 30 which is too small and less capable or 12 x 36 which takes up allot of extra space for the amount ill use it. I have zero Mill experience so I don't know enough to make an informed decision here...

Unlike needing the lathe now which I have a project for, I have time to wait on a Mill - I'm not rushed and can buy and wait 1 or 5 months to get it. but it does need to be smaller to take up less real estate yet big enough I don't outgrow it. Kinda like the PM 12 X 28 is just a smaller version and half the weight of its big brother, a full size 12 X 36 and uses the same tooling.

I would prefer a new made in Taiwan machine but may be willing to buy a used but in excellent condition one, I believe the PM's are Taiwan made so I am starting here.

Thanks in advance for your help.

1228s are China, and my mill is a G0755 10x32 2 hp. PM has similar types too.

I have the 1228 lathe and PM30 from Precision Matthews. They have done everything I have tried for the last couple of years. The variable speed helps to dial in the cutter to the operation. That is important since you don't have the weight to dampen vibrations. That is the most important plus for the PM & Grizzly 1236. Ditto with a real BP versus an Asian lightweight clone. Went with the PM 30 for the extra Z. Have bumped up against it several times so I am glad I spent the extra $.