Loop 5C Collet Chuck Build

Ecosta777

Registered
Registered
Hello everyone,
I've been on this site for a little bit but this is my first 'real' post on here. I'll start out by saying I am a machinist by trade- I started in the tech program in high school and have been doing it for about 8 years now, but I also have machines in my basement and love to do machining as a hobby. I really enjoy making my own tools, so when I stumbled upon the Loop collet chuck I had to get it. I've seen some posts about it on here and know some members have built this, but I didn't see any threads about it. It is available from Metal Lathe Accessories if anyone is interested here's the link - Metal Lathe Accessories I mostly had tracked my progress on Instagram, but compiled everything onto one video and put it on YouTube. Sorry for the lack of 'action' shots, but the video gives you a great video of what goes into building one of these. I have a few photos of the finished chuck I attached as well.

Here's the video link, Making The Loop Collet Chuck
and if you don't want to watch it the steps I took to make it are as follows: