Magnetic Autocollimator Target Mirror

Alexander McGilton

Registered
Registered
Hello everyone, This is my first project posted here so I hope this catches your interest. Since getting my Autocollimator I was wanting to make a tool that would enhance my ability to make square fixtures and also have a more universal use then the standard surface plate target mirrors. This type of magnetic target is available from a few specialized manufacturers, but given that used ones sell for over a thousand I went about making my own.

Of the three main components the outer body is made from O1 with a lip that covers the front rim of the mirror and has a thread in back for the locking ring to press the assembly together. The mirror is a 50mm 1/4 wave length flat glass that I had aluminized, still available at surplus shed. The locking ring is made from plane steel and has five holes. two for spanner and three for magnets to be inserted.

After rough machining and heat treat, the body was ground on both sided. The inner lip was left in machined condition with only a light sanding of the scaling, four points were measured and the outside was ground accordingly for parallelism to the tenths of a thou. In assembly I found that the mirror rattled in asembly ever so slightly. Not to a surprise so I added a sheet of polystyrene as a spacer to make up for the rough side of the glass, also for the thread becoming out of alignment in the heatreatment