Making a Screwless Vise work on my Mini Mill

Magneto&TitaniumMan

Registered
Registered
This is my first project with the Mini Mill. Probably one of the simplest ever but its a start. I want to document my progress. A little too long of a video for what it is, but I wanted to explain my thought process on how I got to this point. If you want to skip to the end to watch the machining go to 6:55. After doing this I've already realized better ways I could have done this and I plan to do it again. Let me know how the cutter sounds.

Link to youtube video

It looks like your first milling project worked out fine, I'm a new hobbyist myself so I would not dare giving advice but just wanted to say, the first thing you realize in this hobby (after doing it for a while) is , there's more than one way to achieve that end result we're seeking, some ways may look peculiar or unorthodox to the veterans but as long as what you've made is functional and useful, you've achieved your goal.
I watched this video last night but waited to post . I like you ,am also interested to hear/read comments on your method, or your question on the cutter sound, hopefully my post will bring this thread up to the " new posts" list and we'll hear more.

@Magneto&TitaniumMan

I am not a professional.
Nothing you did in the video made me cringe or laugh.
I think Ken is right; there's many ways to do this.
I believe you found one way to safely accomplish your goal.
Hopefully this thread will provide enough options to see the different ways that different people would approach it.

Interestingly, having the flat cut on the stud would stop the stud from rotating when you tighten the nut, if the clamp is held.
It could also prevent the stud from threading thru the t-nut and damaging the table if your nuts do not have the last few threads modified to prevent that.