Making a wood lathe

billb2011

Active User
Registered
Hi all. Well I am fairly new to machining but not fabrication. I have inherited a lathe and mill and want projects to start the learning process. My wife is interested in wood lathing but we don't own a dedicated wood lathe so I plan on building one. There will probably be minimal machining involved but there will be some depending on how elaborate I want to get. I have some parts from an old drill press that should work nicely, the variable speed pulleys so it can have different a speeds for example. Also the quill from the drill press I am thinking of using for the tail stock so it can crank in and out.
I have not done much wood turning except way back in high school so I thought I would ask some of you what you like in a wood lathe. Most of the work will probably be limited to 12" in length or less and probably not much more than 2-4" diameter. She would like to do the ink pens you see a lot of and some other stuff for spiffing up the house decorations here and there, basically she just wants to play on it a bit for now and who knows she might really like it and want to get serious about it. Anyway keep in mind its not going to be super elaborate but still easy enough to work with.
Let's hear your ideas and thanks!

Bill

Smooth bearings. 3800 rpm capable Lots of chucks, mandrels, faceplates, etc. HSS tools. #2 Morse taper with a couple of collets and draw bar. Replaceable tip live center. Low speed grinder. AAW membership. www.utahwoodturners.org website for the newsletters. You might consider a used Jet 10x14 mini lathe or similar. That's a good start....
Dave

Sounds like a good project...if you can pull enough 'scraps" together to make all the parts...I keep hearing the theme music for "junk yard wars"...no better project than a zero cost, made from scrap useful machine tool...