Huge thanks.

Daryl
MN

I'm late on finding this thread.
This is great!!
Huge thanks.

Daryl
MN
There is more than one way to skin a cat; HM is a great forum to present the "other" way to do things, especially with limited resources.

Actually I am an industry professional. I was a master machinist and then an engineer for a major machine tool manufacturer. Now I am retired. But to answer your questions, yes the engraving is done in one pass. I use a Nicholson "smooth" cut file to clean the burrs. You want to use a "fine" file. You don't want to scratch up your dial or you will sand off the numbers polishing it back up. Feel free to ask anything you want to know. I will help all I can.
OK...Now it makes a little more sense. Don't ask me why, but I thought you were a maintenance man in your prior life. God only knows where I got that from Mark. This prior job description you just gave makes a lot more sense to me. You are a very, very skilled craftsman Mark.

OK...Now it makes a little more sense. Don't ask me why, but I thought you were a maintenance man in your prior life. God only knows where I got that from Mark. This prior job description you just gave makes a lot more sense to me. You are a very, very skilled craftsman Mark.

I started out as a maintenance man in a machine shop and went up from there. I have worn many hats in my "colorful" life, several at the same time ...... and I always colored outside the lines too..... way outside.... Lol.

Nice to see you post Mark! Hope all is going ok for you.

Nice to see you post Mark! Hope all is going ok for you.