Matching an insert to a toolholder.

BillWood

Registered
Registered
Hello,

Saw these on ebay S12M-SCLCR09 SCLCR/SCLCL/SCMCN1212H09 Lathe Tool Holder & 10PC CCMT09T304 Insert

If they are not sold as a matching pair, are there any handy web pages / tips / clues for matching a toolholder to an insert. Did a google search which seemed to promise good answers but they fizzled out.

Do we have to translate CCMT09T304 back into plain English and then translate that plain English into SCMCN1212H09 ? This seems to be the answer from a few years ago on the practical machinist forum.

I have found codebuster sheets for both tools and inserts but was wondering if there are any tips and clues and shortcuts for quickly identifying/eliminating potential matches ?

I have been grinding my own HSS tools for the last 5 years and whilst I am not very good at it am getting better, and I would now like to start learning a bit more about these Carbide thingies.

Regards

Bill

Please see that attached sheet which "lathe tool holders and inserts recommendations which gives some further info and suggested holders and inserts. Also some other information.