Mill with rotary table vs 3-in-1

Marco M.

Registered
Registered
Hi everybody,
I consider myself an absolute beginner (I only had used a lathe a few times in high school).
I am considering buying my first machine, but I have a very limited space available and a budget of about 2500$.
I would like to be able to perform both milling and turning jobs, so at first, my idea was to buy a 3-in-1 like a Smithy Midas 1220LTD. I have however read that the mill is not very rigid and this could considerably lower the quality of the results.
Would buying a mill and a (vertical) rotary table be a better choice or not? Why?
Will be there some jobs that I will not be able to do with this setup?

Thank you and Regards!

3-in-1 machines are quite limited in rigidity, capacity, and travel. Some users love them and are able to work around the limitations. They definitely take up much less space than the combined individual machines of the same capacity. So if space is really a limitation, and you only want to do smaller and lighter work, it may be a decent choice. Mini machines might also be a possibility (mini mill, mini lathe, mini drill press.) If you have the room then I recommend full size machines, though there is a lot of latitude in size with them. They can be bought used for roughly the same sort of money as 3-in-1 machines and new mini machines, when including tooling. The lathe is the basic machine tool, and I would start out with it. You also have some experience with lathes, so getting started would be easier. As always, much depends on what you think you want to make or repair with the machines.

Hi everybody,
I consider myself an absolute beginner (I only had used a lathe a few times in high school).
I am considering buying my first machine, but I have a very limited space available and a budget of about 2500$.