Mini lathe restoration questions from a beginner

Alex v.d.H.

Registered
Registered
Hi, I'm new to the forum and also kinda new to lathes. I am getting an old mini lathe soon which has been sitting for a few years and gathered some rust. What I'm most concerned about is the small amount of rust on the ways and inside the tailstock taper. How should i go about removing it without impacting the accuracy of the lathe? Is it ok to just sand it away or would that be a bad idea? Also since I'm new to lathes i might as well ask which tool(s)/part(s) you guys recommend getting for the lathe. I already have a test indicator, a few calipers a 20mm micrometer and the lathe comes with a 3 jaw chuck. I'm looking into getting a independent 4 jaw chuck bacause i heard 4 jaws depend less on the accuracy of the lathe. I look forward to your answers.

Welcome to the madness!

Evaporust is the best thing I've found for removing rust. On machine ways I'd use the gel and cover it with plastic wrap to keep it from drying out.

Just remember that some products are rust removers and some are rust converters. What you want to do is remove rust, not convert it.

another method is to use phosphoric acid
it is a relatively weak acid that is fantastically suited for removal of oxides of iron.

simply get you PPE (personal protection equipment-gloves, eye protection, long sleeves), some lint free rags/towels, and some phosphoric acid
use in a ventilated area or outside- like any acid don't breathe the vapors :)
soak a rag in the phosphoric and wring the rag until it is only damp
then rub the affected area until you are satisfied with the result
neutralize with a water dampened sponge or rag
finish with a coat of light oil for rust prevention

aluminum is a bit more reactive, but can be cleaned with the same method
don't let the phosphoric acid dry on a surface, there will be a white phosphate dusting on the part-