Miniature air compressor

basalt

Registered
Registered
Does anyone know where I can get plans for a miniature air compressor. I would like to build one to fill a small propane tank at low pressure for my bench lathe.

I'm not sure the propriety of compressed air around lathe/mill work. I have heard many people come down on different sides of that argument. But, that being said... If you are looking for low pressure, skip the tank altogether and buy a good sized Aquarium pump. They are designed for continuous run. If that's enough pressure, then you shouldn't even be taxing it.

I'm a newbie, so take that for what it's worth... I just like to think outside the box.

Does anyone know where I can get plans for a miniature air compressor. I would like to build one to fill a small propane tank at low pressure for my bench lathe.

If you can find an old refrigerator compressor, they will work, not high volume and I wouldn't think they would last forever but definitely cheap. Add a pressure switch and a check valve and a safety valve and you are ready to go.

Thanks Guys, What I want to do is build the cylinder, piston etc. from scratch. I read somewhere that reed valves might work--basically a leaf shim covering a port. Either that or use 2 check valves. I plan to drive it with a sewing machine motor so it is not going to be very big. Other concerns are what material to use for the piston (rings) and cylinder wall to reduce friction. Any ideas or or other links would be much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to read my post.

Hello Basalt,
I don't have any plans for a miniature air compressor, but I can offer some "for whats its worth" comments.