Motors Minimum RPM ( wrt rigid tapping )

cut2cut

Registered
Registered
I'm just getting into rigid tapping and wondering if my motor can go slow enough. Yeah, in a world where we want to go fast or go home... I'm asking that question! :)

I have a 1.5hp Marathon inverter motor and Delta VFD ( link to the motor below ). I don't know if its bad to run this motor at too low an RPM. Currently I'm running a pulley at 2 to 1 for added rpm for general milling and its not possible to change pulleys.

So if the minimum rpm of the motor is say 300 rpm, that means to get 300 rpm at the spindle I have to run the motor at 150 rpm. Is this bad for the motor ? I suppose it depends on the VFD frequency a bit. Largely I would assume that tapping doesn't require tons of torque but since I'm new to rigid tapping, I don't know enough and want to go cautiously. Thanks for any help !

note, I can't remember where I saw it, but I thought I read somewhere 300 rpm is indeed the minimum rpm for this motor. I could have dreamed this, because right now I can't find that designation anywhere.

Marathon Motor # 145THTR15540

http://marathonmotorsupply.com/inde...osure-tenv-phase-3-voltage-230-460-hz-60.html

Jake

the motor is inverter rated that's a good thing,
it won't have a lot of hp at 150 rpm, but you can certainly operate the motor at low speeds.
you may wish to add additional cooling provisions if you are going to operate for long periods of time at very low speeds

the motor is inverter rated that's a good thing,
it won't have a lot of hp at 150 rpm, but you can certainly operate the motor at low speeds.
you may wish to add additional cooling provisions if you are going to operate for long periods of time at very low speeds

Thanks for the reply! Basically I shouldn't be using it at low rpm except for tapping 1/4 20, 10-24 etc, relatively small stuff at least initially. I'm sure that will change over time and I'll push it harder but just getting my feet wet, so to speak.