Mounting a chuck on a new backplate

WhoWhatNow

H-M Supporter - Silver Member
H-M Supporter - Silver Member
I just picked up a D1-4 chuck adapter to mount a 4 jaw chuck. How do I machine this to fit my chuck. I know I need to mount the back plate in the lathe then machine the registration boss to fit the chick and the face of the plate. Any particular order of operations I should follow? I will need to drill and tap holes to attach the chuck as well. I figured once the boss was machined, I could mark the holes with a transfer punch and drill them on the mill. I am still learning so details are appreciated. Pictures of the backplate and chuck are attached. Thanks.

Attachments

• ECEFFE10-344C-4C66-8EC8-72D6C9940F8E.jpeg
    ECEFFE10-344C-4C66-8EC8-72D6C9940F8E.jpeg
    2.2 MB · Views: 11
  • A8EDBEEF-EBE5-4071-9503-E0DA78C350E7.jpeg
    A8EDBEEF-EBE5-4071-9503-E0DA78C350E7.jpeg
    1.8 MB · Views: 9
  • 40339AA9-A2DE-408B-841B-D9CA1C0B92E5.jpeg
    40339AA9-A2DE-408B-841B-D9CA1C0B92E5.jpeg
    2.1 MB · Views: 9
Lots of videos on Youtube.
It's touchy work.
Someone will be along that knows what they are doing.

Lots of really knowledgeable people on here who will bend over backwards to help you. They are going to need more info on your lathe and pictures of the headstock spindle.

The lathe is a Precision Matthews PM-1228VF-LB. I can get pictures later tonight.

Hardly an expert, but I did this once for a threaded spindle and despite making a few mistakes it came out great. How I did it:

Put the backplate on the spindle, face it, turn the OD down to the OD of the chuck. Measure the ID and depth of the chuck register, and reduce the backing plate OD to that ID, for a length matching the measured depth.