MSC 951735 Lathe, 13x40. Opinions?

OK. I decided to pass on that MSC lathe and look for something beefier.
Here is the story with some my history. About 40 years ago I worked as a lathe man apprentice in some factory in USSR for one year. My first and only lathe in my life was beefy industrial lathe, 1K62, like one bellow.
tokarno-vintoreznyy-stanok-1k62-foto.jpg

After that my professional road dramatically changed and I never returned to metal machining ... until now! Well, I saw several little lathes (like 7x14 and similar) alive, that is it. Once I decided to buy machinery for myself, I checked the lathes from papares and pictures, but never in person. So, 13x40 sounded as serious good sized machine. When I went to check the lathe in subject I was surprised how not big it was in person, and how skinny it was. Now, I feel how I was spoiled by machine I had in my young years and just can not go (mentaly) for skinny lathe.
My search is going to continue, but likely I will focus ... though you know on what ;-)

Some info about that Russian lathe from http://www.lathes.co.uk/stankoimport/
As an example of the machine's ability under test, one at the works of Broomfield Engineering in Folly Hall, Huddersfield, was observed reducing a 15/8" diameter mild-steel bar down to 1/4" in one pass using a tungsten-carbide tipped tool at 1000 r.p.m. with a feed rate of 0.006" per rev. Other users report that drilling a 50 mm (2-inch) hole in one pass is easily accomplished
Drive came from a 13.5 h.p., 1500 r.p.m. motor mounted inside the headstock-end plinth and then by five V-belts to the all-geared headstock, the drive passing through a sliding clutch. 24 forward speeds were available, with 12 in reverse, the range being from 12.5 to 2000 r.p.m.

Umnik: “When I went to check the lathe in subject I was surprised how not big it was in person, and how skinny it was. Now, I feel I was spoiled by machine I had in my young years and just can not go (mentaly) for skinny lathe.”