MT2 Tool Holder for 28mm Indexable Drill

macardoso

H-M Supporter - Silver Member
H-M Supporter - Silver Member
Hi All,

I recently acquired a really nice 28mm Kennametal indexable drill (3.75280R215) in a tool trade with a friend. I've never used an indexable drill before and I was very excited to try it out. Unfortunately, I did not have any way to hold the 25mm stub straight shank on my lathe.

I quickly drew up a tool holder in Inventor and got to work making it. I've attached the design PDF for anyone to use to make their own or modify to suit a similar purpose. The drill is retained by (2) 1/4-20 set screws and has a 1/8" NPT fitting for coolant or air through the drill. Material can be anything, but I had a chunk of 41L40 on hand which machines beautifully.

I'd put the machining at a 6/10 on spice level. Accurately boring the bore and turning the MT2 taper are moderately challenging and would be tremendously frustrating on a lathe that was not well leveled.

1585749565104.png

I started with an 8" long 2" Dia bar of 41L40 because that's what I had on hand. I got it roughly centered in my 4 jaw. I have a nice stain started on the back wall from the chuck spray.

image001.jpg

I roughed in the OD using a CCMT32.52 insert from Shars. I was able to get a .100 depth of cut on the diameter with .008"/rev feed at 100rpm. Not bad for a little home shop lathe! Chips were coming off a nice medium straw color and breaking nicely.

image003.jpg

I used a VCGT once I got close to the final dimension since the cutting forces are lower (better accuracy) and the surface finish comes out great. Insert life is pretty crappy on these guys in steel (they are for non-ferrous metals), but at $0.50 per edge I really didn't mind. I just bought 3 more boxes of these because I like them so much.

image006.jpg