MT3 tailstock issue

Rellortnoc

Registered
Registered
I have a Grizzly G0602 and am new to machining. Recently purchased a Jacobs 5/8 chuck with an MT3. The problem is that the taper shaft is so long that I have to run out my tailstock half way just to seat it. That only leaves me about an inch or less to center bore. Then I have to move the tailstock closer to cut deeper. Is there precedent for cutting some of the MT3 shaft off? Seems like a logical option, but as I said, I’m new to machining and don’t want to make a blunder.

Last edited:
You could possibly do that, hopefully, if you remove the tang, there will still be enough length to knock out the chuck.

Well, it was stuck in there today. Took the tailstock shaft out and had to use a punch to remove the taper. That’s gonna be a lot of work if I have to do that all the time. My next purchase will be a live center. May have the same issue. There’s just not much travel in the tailstock. Thanx for the advice.

Last edited:
That's what I do on my lathe. My tailstock doesn't have the slot for a tang. I cut my arbors to length (not just the tang) so they eject when my ram is pretty much fully retracted so I can make more use of the ram travel for drilling. Don't cut too short though, leave some room in case you ever need to ream your TS ram. I only do this for my drill chucks.

I have a grizzly G4916 and the p.o. Cut the tang off as shown in the picture. Just don't cut it too short or it won't eject when the tail stock is retractedIMG_20200611_194734.jpg