My DIY Atlas 618 milling attachment

WCraig

Registered
Registered
Hey! I made diy milling attachment for my tiny Atlas 618 lathe!!

I don't have a mill and acquiring one is not in the cards for the foreseeable future. But then I ran across Harold Hall's amazing website and the idea of using an angle plate to enable the compound to move a vise in the vertical direction. So I did that:

Since I'm a newbie, there were a couple of missteps and a piece that had to be remade. I already had the vise which had 3/8-24 mounting holes on the bottom. I had to add an extra set of mounting holes to get a better range of travel.

Here's a sort of 'exploded' diagram:

I know this isn't a real mill. I know I'm not going to be taking heavy cuts and I plan to mostly use it with aluminum and brass. Hopefully it will work OK for that.

It isn't hard to set up or tear down. Two allen keys are all that is necessary to mount it. A 1-2-3 block in the vise helps to get it pretty square to the spindle. I need to buy proper end mill holders. I see Shars has some for $12 USD per size.

All in all, this has been a fun project. Hopefully I'll get some use out of it. First thing I want to try is a carriage stop.

Craig

My first attempts at cutting a simple part in mild steel were abject failures. The "Y axis" (which uses the lathe's compound) was moving on its own while I was advancing the X axis (the lathe cross-slide). The resulting slot was crooked and well off the planned line. Also had a lot of vibration and cutter was grabbing the work and self-feeding (X).

I decided that I needed to lock the gib screws as best I could for the Y axis whenever possible. And tighten the X axis gib screws much more than I do for normal turning. Tightened the belts somewhat so it wasn't so easy to stall. Moved the mount for the vice so the fixed jaw would come right up to the centre line of the cutter.

I'm now much happier with the result:

FirstSuccess.jpg