My DIY Atlas 618 milling attachment

Cool idea! Can you swivel both the compound, the angle plate and the compound to vise?

Would it be better to reverse the orientation of the compound, so it remains vertical, and the vise can swivel off of it?

I'm a noob and want to make something similar, any advise relating to this would be appreciated!!
Yes, you can set angles in both directions to be able to mill some really funky ramps! However, in both cases you have to loosen the fasteners to adjust the angle so it is tough to get a really precise angle dialed in.

I'm not sure how the compound could be re-oriented. The advance knob would have to be between the bed ways?

When I was scratching out the design, I looked at the travel available with the compound. I then tried to position the vise so that the fixed jaw could come up to the center line of the cutter and down towards the bed as far as possible.

Note that I got a mill/drill a couple of months ago and I don't see myself using this anymore. But anything is possible. This setup can hold stock in ways that would be impossible on a normal mill. Maybe I'll have a reason to mill a feature into the end of a piece that is too long to fit under the mill's spindle? In any event, it was a fun project for a rookie and I learned a lot doing it.

Craig

Looks like Necessity the MOTHER of invention just gave birth to another useful widigt.

Yes, you can set angles in both directions to be able to mill some really funky ramps! However, in both cases you have to loosen the fasteners to adjust the angle so it is tough to get a really precise angle dialed in.

I'm not sure how the compound could be re-oriented. The advance knob would have to be between the bed ways?

When I was scratching out the design, I looked at the travel available with the compound. I then tried to position the vise so that the fixed jaw could come up to the center line of the cutter and down towards the bed as far as possible.