My Heavy 10 Ways

ChuckB

Active User
Registered
Here is a slideshow of the ways on my lathe. There are nicks probably from the chuck or other tooling being dropped and a few pitted areas from rust, but as far as wear goes, can anyone determine their condition? They seem to me to be in good condition, but I am a novice..

Or do I need to post some better pictures for their condition to be determined?

http://s926.photobucket.com/albums/ad106/doorguru/Ways/?albumview=slideshow

knudsen link=topic=1248.msg6264#msg6264 date=1299510738 said:
Those are in very good shape. Trade lathes?

You mentioned a couple times of your bad ways (no, i'm not talkin about your chasin wild women and alcohol). :)

Would it be possible to post some pictures of yours, so I can see what you are talking about?

chengdave2003 link=topic=1248.msg6268#msg6268 date=1299512531 said:
Hey Chuck,

My ways are just a little better than yours (neener, neener, neener!!!) and it does just fine....

How's the refurbish going?

Dave

The pictures of mine only make them look badder :) Post some pictures of your ways too..
(Maybe we should start a thread "Show us your ways" ) :)

Go to my SB lathe post to see the latest on the refurb :)

Last edited by a moderator:
Oh.. I get it now.. that little ridge on the "V" in your picture shouldn't be there. I guess I should have taken my pictures 90 degrees from where I did..

I just went out to the garage and checked and there isn't a trace of that kind of wear to be found anywhere. The shape of the ways are consistant from the head to the tail. Only those nicks and some slight pitting.

I think I will take some better pictures next chance I get.

Hope you didn't catch a cold going out to the garage to snap that picture :D

Jim B. link=topic=1248.msg6366#msg6366 date=1299558024 said:
no fishtailing.