My Metalshop/drafting projects - "Make Your Own Tools"

@frankly2 I can post a photo or 2 as well (as soon as our deep freeze warms up a bit).
Must have thrown them out during last cleaning, sorry for leaping too soon. My shop is small (15’ X 9’) and as I am such a pack-rat, clear areas are a premium and that forces me to regularly clear out things that only get used occasionally.
I have been using AutoCad for many years so have not needed drafting equipment for a long time. I suppose thats why I threw them out ! Sorry for speaking too soon !

Hi everyone! I just started machining classes at Laney College located in Oakland, CA. I absolutely love it as I'm coming from an artist's background growing up with a deep appreciation for Japanese craftsmanship. I realized very quickly that technical drawings are a form of art and I'm attempting to teach myself with a Mutoh drafting machine and "Technical Drawing, Eighth edition" by Giesecke, Mitchell, Spencer, Hill, and Dygdon, 1986, Macmillan Publishing Company. I think I've got all the drafting instruments—some solid K&E and Dietzgen sets. I need help with answers for problems found in the textbook. I don't think answers were ever published for these textbooks?? I have the workbooks as well. I was wondering if it would be okay to ask here for some help as I work through the book?
Also, I hope this is the appropriate thread to be posting in.

Attachments

• MutohDraftingMachine.jpg
    MutohDraftingMachine.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 46
Welcome to the forums! Unfortunately, I can't help you but I'm sure there are plenty of folks who will can.

Welcome to the forums! Unfortunately, I can't help you but I'm sure there are plenty of folks who will can.
Thank you for the swifty and warm welcome!

Maybe it would help if I posted my first question.

The first one is in the picture fig. 4.68. It is in METRIC. In what sequence of setting off measurements do I locate the center of R34?

Here is my sequence:
  1. draw center line