My Precision Mathews PM1340GT Arrival

Hey Mike,

Total noob here, thanking you for the wiring diagrams and all the other info and videos that you took the time to post/make.

I'm getting the same combo of machinery as you and really appreciate all the help I can get!! :)

Best wishes,

JP

Glad to hear the information was helpful JP.

Also congrats on the new machines. I think you will be happy with them.

Do you have an ETA on them?

Mike.

Glad to hear the information was helpful JP.

Also congrats on the new machines. I think you will be happy with them.

Do you have an ETA on them?

Mike.

Yeah, I'm sending the deposit tomorrow for the two machines plus fixtures and accessories for both. Pretty darned hard hit on my finances to do this all at once, from scratch, but it's only money, right? ;)

I have to say right up front that if it hadn't been for your videos and this thread, I would very likely have spent a bunch of money on inferior equipment that I'd have ultimately been seriously disappointed and frustrated with - so thanks!

They're about 6 weeks out, as of now.

One question, is there any good reason to go with the more expensive Hitachi brand VFD for the mill (one-phase only in my shop) or can I just as well go with a cheaper brand, since I'll only be using it as a three phase, 60 HZ power supply and not as a speed control?

Definitely going with your exact components for the lathe VFD.

Respect,

JP

Last edited:
Glad you found this site and my videos helpful and informative JP.

As for the milling machine, I simply went single phase on mine and have been very pleased with the variable speed of the machine itself. I also used the Hitachi VFD on the lathe and to be honest if you get it from Matt the price is hard to beat. I think if I were to have ordered the mill in 3ph I personally would still use the Hitachi VFD.

Mike.

Mike,