My Rockwell 14 X 40 Lathe

jjtgrinder

JJTGRINDER
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2011
Messages
217
NO, Your machine is a new model with a brake. The machines built in the 60's did not have the brake and it could not be added as an option. That's what I was implying. I do not know anything about the brakes because mine doesn't have one. My machine will stop in about 12 seconds. I plan to implement an "electronic" brake in the future with the VFD.
 
4

4GSR

Forum Guest
Register Today
I was able to get a pitch diameter measurement off of the thread on the back end of the spindle yesterday. It measured at 1.702". Working backwards, I determined the thread is a 1.750-16 UN RH thread. Probably a class 2A since the PD dimension is at the bottom of the tolerance for the external thread. Just so happens I have a tap for the same thread that makes a handy gage and a way for me to size the nut without going oversize on the PD. Thread bore for this thread is 1.682/1.696". These measurements confirm with John's measurements in the previous post for the thread size. Now, all I have to do is make a nut. I'm thinking about making it long enough for mounting a small chuck or "cat head" device for supporting long shafts or tubes.

Ken

PS. Still waiting on the 20" L & S lathe to disappear from my garage so I can get this off the trailer in it's place.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

junk iron

Registered
Registered
Joined
Aug 4, 2014
Messages
62
Hey fellows I picked up one of these 14 in lathe,it's leaking a little oil around shaft where you put it in back gear,saw the parts manual that is posted in this thread and it looks lik o ring,anyone ever replaced this o ring? Thanks
 
4

4GSR

Forum Guest
Register Today
Nope.
I will be pulling mine soon to fix the worm gear, put it back in position to engage the gear on the eccentric that engages the back gear. On my lathe, the back gear was disabled where it could not be used by someone in the past before I bought mine. It appears to be an easy removal of the shaft to replace the O-Ring. You may have to remove the roll pin holding the sleeve on the shaft as well as any other pins yours may have in place.

If you haven't already done so, visit the Rockwell Lathe group on Yahoo grooups for lots of information posted there.

www.yahoo.com/neo/groups/RockwellLathe/conversations/messages

(The link above is not working for me, can't figure it out either)

Note: You will have to drain the oil out of the headstock to do this repair, unless you want about two gallons of oil to pour out on everything!

Ken
 
4

4GSR

Forum Guest
Register Today
For anyone who might be interested in what the inside of the headstock looks like on a 14" Rockwell lathe. As I mentioned above, someone disabled the back gear on my lathe long before I bought it. I have a stray gear that looks like it came from the headstock, so I figured it was toast and would never have a back gear for use when needed.
Well, once I opened up the headstock and saw what was going on, I think I'm in better shape than I first thought. That gear was replaced with a new replacement, but they put a spacer in behind the gear to always keep it in gear. They removed the pawl or shoe that rode in the groove of the gear that engaged it for back gear. I will have to make a new one when I get a chance. The other thing they did was re-position the worm on the shaft where it would not engage the worm gear on the back gear, which is used to engage the back gear with the spindle bull gear. I hope this can be fixed with out too much difficulty. Other than that, the headstock looks nice on the inside! Oh, I did get the spindle take up nut drawn up ready to make and mount. I'll post an picture when I get it done. Ken

20160824_164746.jpg

20160824_164750.jpg

20160824_164755.jpg

20160824_164800.jpg

20160824_164809.jpg

20160824_164815.jpg

20160824_164819.jpg

20160824_164825.jpg
 
4

4GSR

Forum Guest
Register Today
Finally got the retainer nut made that goes on the back end of the spindle. This is to replace the original nut removed by the person that stole the collet attachment off this lathe before I bought it. Next is to get it mounted on the spindle. Try to get that done tomorrow.

20160904_173423.jpg

20160904_173434.jpg
 
4

4GSR

Forum Guest
Register Today
Mounted the retainer nut on the lathe today. Can't wait to mount a chuck on it now!

20160905_190454.jpg

20160905_190500.jpg
 
Last edited by a moderator:

kspainhour

Registered
Registered
Joined
Jun 2, 2013
Messages
14
Ken,
Do you know happen to know what the "shoe for dog clutch" part that is missing in your lathe looks like? It would be the part on the end of the shaft to move the gear to engage the direct drive. It is number 33 in the parts list. Part mumber 414-03-047-5002. The reason I ask is I have a similar issue. The one I have looks like it was shop made and it doesn't work exactly right.

Thanks,
Keith
 
4

4GSR

Forum Guest
Register Today
Ken,
Do you know happen to know what the "shoe for dog clutch" part that is missing in your lathe looks like? It would be the part on the end of the shaft to move the gear to engage the direct drive. It is number 33 in the parts list. Part mumber 414-03-047-5002. The reason I ask is I have a similar issue. The one I have looks like it was shop made and it doesn't work exactly right.

Thanks,
Keith
Keith,

That's the part I'm missing on my lathe, too.
As soon as I can get one drawn up and made, I'll be glad to share it with you. Don't hold your breath! It maybe several months before I get it done. I have a full plate right now of work I have to get done before the first of the year. If I have break during this time, I'll try to do something.

Ken
 
It can take up to an hour for ads to appear on the page. See our code implementation guide for more details. If you already have Auto ad code on your pages there's no need to replace it with this code
Top
AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks useful features of our website. For the best site experience please disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock