Naming decimal places in the shop

jwalkerwade

Registered
Registered
This feels like a stupid question, but I don't care.

Im new in this field of work so bare with me!

Can someone explain the proper way of naming decimals. Like, other than the obvious: "point 123".

Are they different in a machine shop than in a math class?

Im pretty much just confirming this for an old-timer stuck in his ways lol. I need help explaining this to him. If you could name a few for me I would greatly appreciate it!

The main thing to remember is...a tenth is not .1, it's .0001. and .7 is not seven tenths, it's seven hundred thousandths. Thats all you need to know...now go make chips. :))

See foot in mouth!! I wonder why they teach us in school that .1 is a tenth!!!! Oh well, understood... Thanks!

So it goes

.100 = one hundred thousandths
.010= ten thousandths ?
.001= ?
.0001= a thenth

So it goes

.100 = one hundred thousandths
.010= ten thousandths ?
.001= ?
.0001= a thenth

.100 = one hundred thousandths (100 x 1/1000")
.010= ten thousandths (10 x 1/1000")
.001= one thousandth (1 x 1/1000")
.0001= a tenth or one ten thousandth (1 x 1/10,000")

Last edited:
.001 == a thousandth

0.0001 is really "one tenth of a thousandth", or "one ten thousandth", but because machinists (well those using using the "English" system at least) typically work in thousands of an inch, we have developed this shorthand where everything is based on the number of thousands of an inch.

Now the whole thing is different in the rest of the world (you know the countries that are not one of the 3 holdouts that still use the English system, yes, I live in one of those countries...). Maybe someone who works in metric will describe the terminology there...I'm a bit curious now.