Need advice for repairing damaged SB 14-1/2” lathe

rwdenney

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I posted in another thread about the tumble my new SB 14-1/2 took when it turned over removing it from the skid. I know I’m new with little credibility on the forum, and what I’m needing may need old-friend status with some of you. I get that, and wish I had time to earn more respect here, but this is the hand I dealt myself when I let the lathe tip over.

Now I’m trying to put the toothpaste back in the tube.

The taper attachment slide block (6 on the diagram shown further down) and the bed bracket (28) are destroyed, broken into several pieces. Those parts are cast iron and brittle (the photo doesn’t show it, but one of the dovetails from the slide block was snapped off—it’s sitting in its correct spot in the photo).

IMG_9682-dsqz.JPG

IMG_9683-dsqz.JPG

Another victim is the crossfeed screw, which buckled into a camel hump:

IMG_9688-dsqz.JPG

The brass nut still turns on the screw, but I already have a new nut in hand. The nut retainer hollow bolt broke as well. I’m assuming at present that the front part of the slide shaft is undamaged, or at least repairable with new thrust bearings.

IMG_9690-dsqz.JPG

The connecting bar (4) was distorted and is out of flat by about 1/16”.

The saddle took some damage but not fatal. One connecting bar bolt blew out a chunk of the casting, but most of the thread is still there and I can epoxy a stud in its place. And one gib bolt on the back of the saddle broke, and the other two bent, but the gib is undamaged and the bolts are common. The gib held and I believe prevented further damage to the saddle, which still moves smoothly on the bed.

IMG_9687-dsqz.JPG

The binder stud (5) that locks the connecting bar is broken. But the sleeve (21) is fine.

Here is a parts diagram with broken parts circled:

86AAE5F2-F777-457C-AB1B-F2C4AC542BD7.jpeg

Options: