• PHISHING SCAM attempt TARGETING HOBBY-MACHINIST members. It has been brought to our attention that a pop-up survey is soliciting userfeedback from H-M members. In exchange for survey information, the user is given an opportunity to win a prize if they pay for shipping charges. This is NOT a Hobby Machinist program, survey or contest. DO NOT click through the links. Close your browser immediately and restart your computer. Clear cookies, cache and log back into Hobby Machinist. Again, this is NOT a Hobby Machinist contest or survey - IT IS a PHISHING SCAM attempt to get your credit card information.To close this notification, click the "X" in the top right corner of this box.

Need assistance troubleshooting Enco 12x36

bigloudvtwin

Registered
Registered
Joined
May 31, 2018
Messages
27
Setting up a shop at work. The Enco lathe has an issue. Supply power to the lathe (220), pull E-stop, push power on button, the main power relay closes but when you release the power button it doesn't stay closed. If I hold the power button in and hit the Jog button (inching) at the same time the lathe will run at least till the power button is released. If I hold the power button on and try to turn on the lathe with the forward-off-reverse lever on the carriage the main power relay will open (off) even while button is held in. It seems the main power relay internals are working (contacts, magnet) except it wont stay in the closed /on position.
This is driving me crazy. The schematic in the users manual is pretty much useless to me so far. Any help would be great.
I have the exact same lathe at home and mine works fine but I don't really want to tear into the electrical circuts just to do a comparison.
HELP
 

BaronJ

Registered
Registered
Joined
Aug 7, 2018
Messages
661
Hi, That sounds like a contact failure or a break in a wire.

Make sure that the power is disconnected. Now you can use a multimeter on the low ohms range to check for broken wires. You say that you have the schematic for the machine, if you could post a picture it would help.
 

JimDawson

Global Moderator
Staff member
H-M Platinum Supporter
Joined
Feb 8, 2014
Messages
9,653
Check the contacts in the E-stop button. This is normally cause of this type of failure. Also look for any other switches that might be in the E-stop circuit (door switches, foot brake, ect.)
 

Cadillac

Registered
Registered
Joined
Mar 12, 2018
Messages
1,449
Sounds like a contact is broke for the run circuit. Would look at run relay or contact circuit. By you holding run button you are closing that circuit. Which when you push run button it should send power to contact or relay to hold until other command.
 

markba633csi

Registered
Registered
Joined
Apr 30, 2015
Messages
4,682
How many wires on the e-stop button? 4? Also, does the problem occur either forward or reverse?
mark
 

bigloudvtwin

Registered
Registered
Joined
May 31, 2018
Messages
27
Check the contacts in the E-stop button. This is normally cause of this type of failure. Also look for any other switches that might be in the E-stop circuit (door switches, foot brake, ect.)
Sounds like a contact is broke for the run circuit. Would look at run relay or contact circuit. By you holding run button you are closing that circuit. Which when you push run button it should send power to contact or relay to hold until other command.
I will chase both of these down on Monday. Thank you
 

bigloudvtwin

Registered
Registered
Joined
May 31, 2018
Messages
27
Hi,

Check for a broken wire between 3 and 5 on FR. If I'm reading the diagram right, SB1 is the "E" stop button and SB2 is the on button. The contact KM1 should close and supply power to hold the relay on.
HI. LOL Thanks more chasing on my to do list.
 

bigloudvtwin

Registered
Registered
Joined
May 31, 2018
Messages
27
Thanks for all the replies. In the end good ole occams razor applied in this situation. I chased down every wire with an ohm meter and low and behold... the main harness had taken a hit when a couple people inadvertently tipped the lathe over while in transit. Duh! She's up and running now.
I love this site because of the folks on it.
 

BaronJ

Registered
Registered
Joined
Aug 7, 2018
Messages
661
Hi, Glad you got it sorted ! Thanks for the feedback.
 
It can take up to an hour for ads to appear on the page. See our code implementation guide for more details. If you already have Auto ad code on your pages there's no need to replace it with this code
Top
AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks useful features of our website. For the best site experience please disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock