Need Help With Decision on New Lathe and VFD

BB 777

Registered
Hi all, I’ve been a member for a while, but I think this is my first post. I’m looking at a new Taiwan-made 1440E lathe from Eisen. I want to go with the 3 phase 3hp motor, but there are 2 options. The less expensive option is a 2-speed motor 4p,6p. Oddly, the more expensive option is a 3hp single speed motor. I’m no electrician, but from what I’ve read on this site it can be difficult getting a VFD to work with both speeds. So, I have a few questions:
1. Would it make sense to go with the less expensive 2-speed motor, try to get both speeds working and if that doesn’t pan out, just connect to the high-speed portion? At that point would the result be the same as if it was just a single speed motor?
2. These lathes also have little 3ph coolant pumps. Does that complicate things?
3. Is there a resident expert on these boards who helps people out with their VFD installation and re-wiring?

I’ve already looked through most of the threads on VFD use on 2-speed motors....and I saw a lot of differing opinions, sometimes conflicting opinions. At this point, the most important question to me is #1. Clarity on that will help me make my purchase decision.

Thanks in advance for your assistance.

btw I live in Canada and I’ll need to convert from single to 3-phase as the lathe will be in my house. I won’t receive the lathe until April, but I’ll be making my purchase decision in the next few days to a week.

tcarrington

Making miscellaneous parts for years now
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
I would get the two speed motor OR the 3ph motor and put a VFD on it.
18 speeds 50 to 2000 is a good situation on a lathe like this.
I would want an inverter duty motor which the 3ph motor supplied with it is probably not.
The extra expense of the VFD and how to mount the controls, etc is a complication that you might not wish.
The single speed motor is probably beefier having a slightly better set of windings and more iron.