Need help with measuring internal diameter

devils4ever

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Newbie here practicing making internal and external threads. For the internal thread, I've been making nuts for the external threads. I've been getting inconsistent results trying to measure the internal diameter of the nut. I started using my digital calipers, but was getting readings all over the place.

So, I bought a set of Mitutoyo Telescoping Gages hoping to get reliable consistent results. Well, I'm not. The bore is about 0.600" and I'm getting readings from 0.595" to 0.605". So, I'm looking for advice on how to use these accurately.

Thanks.

There is a trick to it. You have to ''rotate'' the gauge through the bore. Hard to explain, but easy to do. Does require some practice to get consistent results.

With practice, you'll do better than 10 thou accuracy with telescoping gauges. Still, its one of the most troublesome things to get accurate readings on bores. I won't use them when extreme accuracy is needed.

I've bought inside micrometers, they work quite a bit better. A bit expensive for a set to go down to 0.500".

I sprung for bore gauges, got them at auction. they are extremely accurate but you'd need DEEP pockets to buy them new.

Another thing to consider is pin gauges, great for small bores. If you only have one small job, you can make your own pin gauge, then fit your bore to the gauge.