Need help with measuring internal diameter

Wow. A lot of great responses. Seems like we all are learning.
I didn't want to get to deep into technique as writing about it is just going to confuse further. I wanted to give encouragement to practice and point out this is one of the many places you don't need more tools, just attention to technique and feel. I don't use my gauges everyday even though total experience is over decades. So it takes more attention than usual if I've not done it for a while as I'll forget all the details that have been pointed out. But once I'm "warmed up" it all comes back. Metrology is frustrating at first because we're dealing with such small tolerances and it can be hard to tell if it's tools or technique are the problem. No way to get around it except adapt and overcome.

Using tools with "feel" is a funny thing. I'm a retired contractor and I remember teaching a greeny how to cut rafters exactly the same with a circ saw. At first they'd be a 16th off this way or that but after a few months most would be right on. When asked what they learned to go from "off" to "on" they had no answer. They just magically got better with apparently no more information than they had before. It's the same way with mikes and other gauges. You could know nearly all there is to know and not be very consistant, but as you do it day in and day out your brain, eyes and fingers get used to working as a team and you just start to get better. It's magic!

You could know nearly all there is to know and not be very consistant, but as you do it day in and day out your brain, eyes and fingers get used to working as a team and you just start to get better. It's magic!
That is indeed true!