Need help with tooling for new lathe

fishingreg

Registered
Registered
Hello, I am starting at ground zero with a lathe. This is my first so I have nothing except the lathe at this point and it does not have power yet... As with most things I am self taught, not always by preference but I don't have friends that already have things like lathes.. I need some basic tooling to start, facing, parting, and threading tools. Eventually I want to be able to chamber and thread my own barrels and such along with make lord knows what parts for my way too many other hobbies as well. So with that said, my thread pitch will be in the 24-28 range at this point. I will need to reach in and do some internal threads in something that has a 1/2" opening. At first thought, my tool holder will hold 5/8" tools so why not just all go with 1/2" tools. Then I thought, that a 1/2" tool might not fit in a 1/2 opening for threading... So I suspect there are a bunch of other little things I am not thinking about when looking for my start up tooling. I know I will have to probably have many tools of different sizes that do the same job but I would like to start with the most common ones that I will use the most and then start picking up others here and there. Is there anything wrong with me getting say a 5 piece facing kit in 1/2"? Any disadvantages? Will a 3/8" threading tool be rigid enough to handle the basics? I am leaning towards learning using HSS and I plan to turn fairly slow, and have heard that would be a better bet than carbide for us new slower turning folks. Any thoughts there? I do not want to grind my own tools, at least not for a long time, that would be a whole new hobby and I want to focus on using the lathe, not making tooling for it. I see Arthur R Warner offers HSS with replaceable bits just as the carbide ones do. Is that recommended? Any other places you recommend buying from? Any help you can give would be appreciated. This process is almost a bit overwhelming and I just