Need New Contactors

dynastymsports

Registered
Registered
Hi All-newbie here, rescued an older ENCO 12 X 36 from its rusting place on an exposed loading dock of a business nearby. I replaced all of the buggered gears, shafts and bearings and wired it up to 220v single phase. There was a purple (maybe blue) wire left loose in the motor hookup box and long story short, I managed to get it against the black lead coming in (110v line) and welded the contacts in not one, but both of the contactors. So now I need to replace the Riken RAB-18N units which seem to be obsolete with something more up to date. Anybody want to take a stab at where I should try? The motor ran fine in forward and reverse via the drum switch until I stepped in the kaka. The thing that throws me a little is the terminal markings which are on the top: R/1 S/3 T/5 7

bottom: U/2 V/4 W/6 8

There are two other wires connected to top back left marked 7 and bottom right front marked 2

I believe it is a 3-pole with 110v coil but I've got to figure out if "normally closed" and "normally open" means contacts are either open or closed with an energized coil. I'm assuming "normally closed" means contacts are closed with the coils unenergized, but you know what you make when you assume something, right? Anyhow, any insight would be welcome and appreciated.

Yes NC and NO means with coils unenergized, usually.
3 pole contactors with 120 volt coils should not be too hard to find- you may not be able to find the exact size or mounting holes though since those machines were made quite a while ago
Mark
ps here is some Enco stuff which may be helpful:

Attachments

• Enco-110-2033-&-2034-Manual.pdf
    1.7 MB · Views: 9
  • Enco-110-2033-&-2034-contactor-wiring.pdf
    111.5 KB · Views: 4
  • Enco-110-2033-&-2034-motor-wiring.pdf
    65.5 KB · Views: 4
Last edited: