Need to learn how to machine pushrods

Oildrips

Registered
Registered
Hi there. I'm very new to the machinist world. As a hobby I build aircooled VW engines for people, and wanted to get away from having to pay a machine shop to do some of the work. I purchased a South Bend 9 with hopes of being able to do some of the machining myself. I've been working on getting all the parts I need to have a proper machine, and am at the point where I need some advice/guidance on how to properly shorten these cut to length pushrod tubes. They are a hollow steel tube, that I need to shorten to custom lengths. I'm at a loss as to what type of tooling I need to do this. Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• Pushrod.jpg
    Pushrod.jpg
    5.9 KB · Views: 33
  • IMG-5188.JPG
    IMG-5188.JPG
    2.8 MB · Views: 32
  • IMG-5186.JPG
    IMG-5186.JPG
    3.3 MB · Views: 28
  • IMG-5185.JPG
    IMG-5185.JPG
    2 MB · Views: 28
  • IMG-5184.JPG
    IMG-5184.JPG
    1.8 MB · Views: 28
  • IMG-5183.JPG
    IMG-5183.JPG
    1.8 MB · Views: 28
  • IMG-5182.JPG
    IMG-5182.JPG
    1.7 MB · Views: 28
  • IMG-5181.JPG
    IMG-5181.JPG
    2.6 MB · Views: 26
  • IMG-5180.jpg
    IMG-5180.jpg
    3.5 MB · Views: 26
  • IMG-5179.JPG
    IMG-5179.JPG
    2.7 MB · Views: 25