[4]

New Hydrashift Owner

[3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

mukymuk

Swarf
Registered
Hi guys. I recently bought a hydrashift 10 and while moving it into my garage it fell over and broke some hand wheels and levers.

I want to try to repair the damage and could sure use some guidance. I'm new to the hobby and have read/watched a lot but have no real practical experience.

Here's a picture of how it landed:
2016-10-19 11.17.14.jpg

The carriage hand wheel looks like it contacted first. The casting fractured, but I have all the pieces and they all fit together well. Was wondering if it could be salvaged--brazed or otherwise rejoined? I'd like to get this fixed first as its the only show-stopper than I'm aware of right now.

2016-10-26 11.41.21.jpg 2016-10-26 11.49.50.jpg

I can see that there is a pin through the wheel, but it's not clear to me how to remove it so I can get wheel off.
2016-12-16 23.33.36.jpg 2016-12-16 23.04.04.jpg
The cross feed handwheel was pretty much destroyed--I have some of it but I have no idea where the knob went and I'm missing some of the casting. The dial looks undamaged, but the screw is bent at the very end where the handwheel attaches. The rest of the screw seems ok as I can move the cross slide through it's entire range with no problems.
2016-10-22 12.29.52.jpg
As with the cross slide wheel, I'm not sure how to get the dial off to get at the screw. I can see what looks like some kind of pin.
2016-10-22 12.30.00.jpg

The next couple of issues don't seem like a big deal, but I wanted to include them just in case there's more to it than I think.

Lever bent upward a bit:
2016-10-26 11.41.42.jpg

End knob completely destroyed but lever seems to work: 2016-10-22 12.24.55.jpg

Anyway, that's about it. Would greatly appreciate any pointers.

Thanks,
Shawn

Eddyde

Registered
Registered
Ouch! Hope no one was hurt.