New Machine?

Warboss72

Registered
Registered
Wondering which machine to buy? I do a lot of "tinkering" and building, I have everything from laser cutters to 3 d printers. Looking at a machine to make parts for robotics and weapons development, but don't want to be undersized in configuration. Thanks for any suggestions. I am a union Machinist by trade but am not sure about the Precision Matthews machines and their pros and cons.

Not much info to go on, but sounds like you need a mill and a lathe especially since you're already a machinist by trade. The PM machines are good machines. They aren't huge Bridgeports but have their nitch. Just get the biggest mill and lathe your budget (and/or shop space) allows.

Not much info to go on, but sounds like you need a mill and a lathe especially since you're already a machinist by trade. The PM machines are good machines. They aren't huge Bridgeports but have their nitch. Just get the biggest mill and lathe your budget (and/or shop space) allows.
Thanks, it sounds like the support is good as well!

The support is excellent. I have two of PM's Taiwan machines, a 935 mill and a 1340GT lathe. Very accurate and they support my tinkering and pistolsmithing hobbies very well. :)

I’ll agree with the Taiwan machinery is a good fit and finish. II have a p.m. 1440 lathe if I could do half of what it’s capable of I’d be bragging.
I like the Lathe so much I am impatiently waiting on the delivery of a p.m. 1054 milling machine.

The motor on my Lathe quit after a couple months but they stood behind it no problem and even paid extra to overnight the replacement motor to me

The motor on my Lathe quit after a couple months but they stood behind it no problem and even paid extra to overnight the replacement motor to me

Parts fail, I don't care what you buy. But quality service like that more than makes up for the occasional failure IMO.