New mill/drill just arrived, what do I need FIRST . . . then second . . . then third?

chakotay

Registered
Registered
Woo-hoo! My Harbor Freight mill/drill just arrived! It came much quicker than I expected; delivery time was a little under a week. FedEx just left it at the front door--glad no one stole it? It’s of course covered with goo/cosmoline. I look forward to taking it apart, cleaning it, and reassembling it. It’s really the best way to get to know a machine.

Being a newbie, my question is what are the list of priorities to get me running basic milling operations on this machine out of the box? I have to buy tooling as I get disposable cash, so I can’t get everything at once unfortunately. I’m thinking a vice, hold-down clamps, and an end mill holder? Perhaps a test indicator to square everything up? Let me know if there’s something even more basic I’m missing.

Also, what should I be using for lubrication once I’ve cleaned it up?

Thanks! ---j

Do you have any thing in mind you want to make? Or do you just want to make chips? If chips you really jut need a vise endmill and collet/chuck.

But you need an indicator to set up the mill and vice before you do anything.

Oh, I have a whole series of vague projects in mind! The most current is repairing/making my own knife scales and bolsters. This would involve working with mild steel, brass, wood, and acrylic. I'm hoping to use this mill to get them as close to finished shape as possible before finishing up filing and polishing by hand. This would involve shaving the material down thinner (planing it), slotting channels, boring holes, and grinding off pin heads precisely (as not to damage anything else.) So small-scale, precision projects.